We Find Ways

Posted: February 9, 2016 in Services Review
Tags: ,

Today while inside the BDO branch in SM Light, I found out BDO closed my account which just a week ago I used to pay for my bills. Funny thing was while I gave P13K cash for deposit to the last teller on the right, she did not readily gave the cash back. She took hold of it, stared at her screen and told me matter-of-factly that I cant deposit. She ignored my questions why my account was closed. I kept saying Miss, naririnig mo ba ako? (Can you hear me) even if we were face to face.

After my nth question why the account was closed, she mumbled zero balance. I know it was a zero balance but it was a payroll account and I can deplete its contents without worrying that it will get closed. I then asked her when the account was converted from payroll to personal savings, she again totally ignored me. Miss, kakausapin mo ba ako o ano? Asan manager mo? (Are you going to talk to me or what? Where is your manager?)

The girl again ignored me. Until that time she did not return my money even if she knew the account was closed, she kept looking at her screen then counting the bills I gave her. She smiled too. I then asked her what is so damn funny? Why are you not giving me back my money when the account is closed? It took a lifetime for her to give me back my money and get the manager. When she came back, the teller’s excuse was that she likes to smile. Thing was she only smiled after she said I cannot reactivate the account, how annoying was that? No empathy, no apologies, just that your account was closed since it was zero balance then that smug smile.

I talked to the manager there, her name was Grace and told her I understand why my account was closed but I do not get why the teller could not even answer me anything and instead ignored me while I stand there infuriated. I was going to deposit so I can pay my bills, now without any notice at all BDO felt it necessary to close my account and this teller while smiling like a Cheshire’s cat did not feel like returning my money. So is that really how BDO finds ways to annoy their customers better? Grace apologized and told me I can always open an account again since the teller was just one, that I ought not allow one bad service to affect how I feel about BDO. Well I am not a happy camper. I use my BDO account to pay for my bills because I have gone thru the paperless route. And that teller had the audacity to smile and not give me my money back?! How incredulous that was indeed, to be treated so shabbily.

I did not make a scene. It was useless. I just have to find a way to pay for my bills without further hurting Mother Earth.

BDO, indeed like your mantra, you find ways to create such a bad image.

Leave a Reply

