The Story of Us

Posted: April 29, 2016 in My World in 4D

It may be too preemptive to write a story that has yet to unravel but then again if not now when. The start of our journey was not tumultuous but rather it was not my usual either. My last relationship was a decade ago and it took me quite a longer time than necessary to pick up the pieces and patch myself whole again. So when you came into my life February 11 while I waited for a ride to work I did not expect how unceremoniously you’d entered my life.

The way it started was how totally egotistical you are. You never stopped talking about how good looking you are and how lucky the cab company you worked for is for having such a handsome fella in their midst. But the way you delivered it was not obnoxious, it was the matter of fact vibe I got off from you that I found myself engaged in a conversation until I reached my destination. You got my number and two days later you called.

Our story seemed to be a reminiscent of a 2000 B movie directed by Jose Javier Reyes which starred Angelu de Leon and Diether Ocampo. Angelu played the role of Abby Mansueto who does not believe in love. Her parents led separate lives, the mother has a young boyfriend while the father has another family. Tessie Tomas played the part of the jilted wife to an annoying T as she kept harping about the choice of partner the husband replaced her with. Diether on the other hand has fathered a son and led a life of spoiled discontentment. You can say that this is another one of those love stories that Viva Films kept churning. However the twist lies in the fact that Abby has a convoluted view on love that she kept pushing Jimboy away. When Jimboy said “I love you” she countered with nakajackpot ka lang sa akin nag I love you ka na.

bukasa

Of course you are not Diether and I am not Angelu. Still after not being in a relationship for a decade I have become particularly cautious. You are after all a stranger with tons of emotional baggage that can last a lifetime if the stories which you openly told me were all true. Despite the caution, you were intent on being a part of my life. There was no other choice but yes to being your girl. You said you never were good in courting. You know what you want and you often get it. In this case you wanted me.

The first few weeks were tricky. I was often halfway through the door. I did not know what I wanted and was often confused about my feelings towards the us. I know I am attracted to you despite not being my usual type. You are buff, have a leathery reddish skin, and bearded. You do not caress me. You do not hold my face. You do not hold my hand. You often ask about getting into a business with me. You did not finish high school. You have a lot of women and kids. Your body has a number of scars and a faded tattoo of a former flame. You don’t like to foreplay and you looked stricken after the deed as if I repel you. There are still a lot of uncertainties, flaws and insensitivities.

Yet twice because of being too drunk you picked fights with me because you did not feel appreciated and accepted. That you take the time out of your usual route, you bring me home. That I do not see how you make me your priority, you’d even be willing to drop everything if it would mean that it would interfere with our time together. That I, like Abby to Jimboy, forgot that you have feelings too and got hurt by words I say. You have always been open about your limitations, you even mentioned you are not perfect and this is me – take it or leave it. I guess that was when I slowly piece together why I was not comfortable with the us. It is not because of your imperfections, it was because of my own expectations of what a relationship should be.

We are far from having a wonderful relationship, one that is all gooey and stuff. But so far you listen to me, you care about me, you protect me and despite the gruffness, you do thoughtful things. You went to my lola’s birthday party and was not scared to meet an entire clan, my father’s side of the family. You wanted to always impress my mom and wanted to know what she has to say about you. You reminded me to bring my medicines and did not even allow me to drink any alcoholic beverages because you know it was contraindicated. You know when our monthsary is and you would often kiss me back when I kiss you. You hug me tight when you think I am about to fall out of my small bed. Little things my dearest Ricky. Little things that are becoming more and more important to someone as jaded as me.

20160404_004359v2

 

Leave a Reply

